Project 1: Acquisition
Problem Statement:
Changing weather patterns, pollution, work and life stress, poor sleep and diet, lack of exercise are some of the commonly accepted reasons for health issues globally. These have become more and more common over the years. Our skin, our biggest organ is also affected and the factors listed earlier have resulted in increasing cases of skin issues as well. In India, the most common skin issues include acne, uneven skin tone with pigmentation (due to the melanin content) or tanning and dull & dry skin.
Long days at work or college means that women have less and less time and energy to take care of their skin on top of managing their work and life responsibilities. Added to that the common allopathic and mainstream solutions to common skin issues often result in more dryness, rashes and other complications.
Women form roughly half of India’s 1.4 billion strong population. Of the approximately 700 million women in India, 265 million fall in the ages of 25 to 54 years, the population that forms the a large part of the country’s work force. Roughly half of those, approx
With the long work hours and commutes, this demographic represents a huge opportunity to beauty brands like Juicy Chemistry. The brand with the USP for all natural skin and hair care solutions is targeting.
Total Funding Amount - $7000,000
Juicy Chemistry Value Proposition: Juicy Chemistry, with its fresh and all natural compositions is the ideal, gentle yet fast working solution to the common skin and hair issues affecting urban women between the ages of 25 and 54 years. Through Its collections and concern specific products JC is able to give women targeted solutions to specific issues issues
Elevator Pitch: Are you looking for fresh products that don’t require a lot of time and monetary investment to use? Are you looking for effective and resolve solutions to the root cause of your skin and hair issues? Then Juicy Chemistry is the right solution for you. With most products priced at below 500 rupees per bottle and concern specific collections priced at INR. 2000 or less, these serums, creams and masks are a much cheaper and time efficient alternative to a weekly or monthly trip to the salon
Ideal Customer Profiles
Total Addressable Market: Total female populatin in India as of 4 Feb 2024 – 691,000,000
Serviceable Addressable Market Total women between 25 to 55 years of age in urban India (~40% of total female population) = 276,400,000
Serviceable Obtainable Market - Total women between 25 to 55 years of age in urban India willing to invest in 100% natural beauty products ` 140,000,000
Why? Consistent and 100% natural skin and hair care is a not new concept in India but it was given up in favour of quick off the shelf synthetic solutions that could be bought. Traditionally women have used home remedies like home made hairoils, hair packs like henna and skin masks made of Chandan turmeric and cream. With the increase in awareness of the side effects of the chemical heavy mainstream beauty solutions, buying power and decrease in time available to make these at home more and more women are turning to brands that can provide them the kind of skin and hair care that does not cost too much in terms of money or time while not hurting their skin or hair. Enter Juicy Chemistry. Juicy Chemistry started in the home of Pritesh and Megha Asher. Their initial growth journey was purely word of mouth with products sold in mason jars and coming with a hand written note from the founders.
JTBD -
Bragworthy (based on interviews) –
· No adverse effects on skin/hair
· fixes the root cause of the skin or hair issue
· Time efficient
· Cost efficient
Acquisition Strategies
Paid Ads –
· Search and Display Ads on Social Media Platforms such as Facebook, Instagram, Youtube – if the person has searched for videos on specific skin or hair issues she would see a promo video of how a Juicy Chemistry product could solve the problem
· Get the person to engage by showing them an interactive ad that has them fill out their skin and hair condition and on submission of the form provides them with suggestions of Juicy Chemistry Products that could resolve the issue. For existing customers there could be an in app help bot for them to chat about their concerns and get real time answers and solutions
AHA Moments – when the customer gets a badge spending a certain amount on the juicy chemistry app or website
Referral Program: Many people suffer from skin and hair care issues these days as described in detail in earlier sections. Women are always talking to their female relatives and friends about these concerns and discussing what worked for them. Women often recommend products that worked for them to their friends and family. Juicy Chemistry could leverage that by adding a referral option on the payment page, offering the existing customer an additional discount for referring someone, with an additional coupon emailed to them if the person actually ends up buying. This will have a two fold impact – 1. Increase in sales 2. Increase in build in validation that can be used to attract other users
The referral would get a message saying for example, “Hey Priyanka, Reshma bought the Juicy Chemistry Scalp Serum thrice in the past 6 months and thinks it might be the right solution for you too”, personalizing it and making it more likely that the potential customer will give the product a try.
Since Juicy Chemistry leveraged this channel at the very beginning of their journey, they have a lot of data they can leverage to reward customers who bring their friends and family onto the app.
AHA moments – Get loyalty points per referral, free merchandise when the referee spends a certain amount on the app
Content Loops – using social media influencers to drive new customers. Celebrities with good hair/skin can record videos of their positive experiences using Juicy Chemistry products, the brand can put up interviews with them to cash in on the borrowed credibility. Additionally since the brand prizes itself on being all natural, they could put out content about their production process, stories about the farmer who supplies the oil in their creams, another who supplies the herbs, talk about their challenges and how Juicy Chemistry is helping the suppliers build better lives for themselves. Those that like to use natural products would also find such stories appealing. It would encourage the educated, busy professionals who are aware of the world around them but short on time to do much themselves, contribute to a good cause.
Channel Selection:
Channel Name | Cost | Flexibility | Effort | Lead Time | Scale |
Referrals | High | High | Low | Low | High |
Paid Ads | High | Medium | Low | Low | High |
Content Loops | Medium | Low | Low | High | Low |
Organic | Medium | High | High | High | Low |
AOV = Average Order Value (INR.600)
LTV = Lifetime value of a customer
CAC = Customer Acquisition Cost
LTV = AOV x Average number of orders/year x # of years a customer stays active
= 600 x 6 x 8 =28,800
CAC = Since Juicy Chemistry relies a lot on word of mouth, my hypothesis is it doesn’t need to spend much on customer acquisition. Given its rapid and exponential growth since its inception, so I would estimate its CAC at ~ INR. 4000
CAC:LTV = 1:7 --> very healthy
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